Feminist Avant-Garde of the 1970s – Works from the Verbund Collection

So I’ve signed up to my first study visit and I’ve just received the joining instructions.  I’ll be the first to admit this is not something I would have chosen to visit normally, that said  one of the things I learned from my previous courses is that keep an open mind and approach it with no presumptions.

There is definitely subject matter here for the EYV module, one of the reading texts for preparation is Ways of Seeing by J Berger (1972) and this is on the recommended reading materials for Photography 1.  A book I’ve yet to acquire but I did watch and review the documentary that was published by the BBC and is readily available on You Tube.  I’ll write up the video shortly and see how it compares to the book content.

So the first part of the study visit will be the exhibition itself at the Photographers Gallery near Oxford Circus:

Feminist avant garde of the 1970s exhibition which is on until 15th January 2017.

The second part will be at the Tate Modern:

Hermitos Children, the pilot episode 2008 and will be a viewing of a video by Marvin Gaye Chetwynd.

Books just purchased for the pre-reading so hopefully they’ll be here in the next few days.  Looking forward to this, note to self don’t walk from Waterloo again to the Tate it’s a bit of a trek!

Leave a Reply

